Tuesday, August 17, 2010

First Friday Devotion

I think I shall also try out the First Friday Devotion! 

This devotion consists of performing one of the following acts on the first Friday of 9 consecutive months:

1. The Holy Sacrifice of the Mass
2. Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament
3. Act of Consecration to the Sacred Heart of Jesus
4. Act of Reparation 
5. The Litany of the Sacred Heart of Jesus
6. The Sacrament of Reconciliation

When Jesus appeared to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, He told her that all those who have devotion to His Sacred Heart will be the beneficiaries of these promises of His:

1. "I will give them all the graces necessary in their state of life." 
2. "I will establish peace in their homes." 
3. "I will comfort them in their afflictions." 
4. "I will be their secure refuge during life, and above all in death." 

5. "I will bestow a large blessing upon all their undertakings."
6. "Sinners shall find in My Heart the source and the infinite ocean of mercy."  

7. "Tepid souls shall grow fervent." 
8. "Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection."  

9. "I will bless every place where a picture of My Heart shall be set up and honored."  

10. "I will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts."  

11. "Those who shall promote this devotion shall have their names written in My Heart, never to be blotted out."  

12. "I promise thee in the excessive mercy of My Heart that My all-powerful love will grant to all those who communicate on the First Friday in nine consecutive months, the grace of final penitence; they shall not die in My disgrace nor without receiving the Sacraments; My Divine heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment."

Sounds like a good deal to me!!  Thank you, Jesus!  From September to May, I shall be doing this!